Sabah Map: Sabah & Kota Kinabalu
Home Attractions Accommodation Transportation
Malaysia State Maps - Sabah Map: Sabah & Kota Kinabalu
Home > Maps > Sabah Map

Sabah Map: Sabah & Kota Kinabalu

Sabah is Malaysia's easternmost state, one of two Malaysian states on the island of Borneo. It is the second largest state in the country after Sarawak, which it borders on its southwest. It shares a maritime border with the Federal Territory of Labuan on the west and with the Philippines to the north and northeast. The state's only international border is with the province of North Kalimantan of Indonesia in the south. The capital of Sabah is Kota Kinabalu, formerly known as Jesselton. Sabah is often referred to as the "Land Below The Wind", a phrase used by seafarers in the past to describe lands south of the typhoon belt.

Sabah is also one of the founding members of the Malaysian federation alongside Sarawak, Singapore (expelled in 1965) and the Federation of Malaya (Peninsula Malaysia or West Malaysia). Like Sarawak, this territory has an autonomous law especially in immigration which differentiates it from the rest of the Malaysian Peninsula states.

General Information
Discover Malaysia, the exotic part of the Asia
People & Culture
Public Holidays
Tourist Information
Things to know before you go to Malaysia
Travel advice
Get the latest travel deals by subscribing to our newsletter

About Us  |  Terms of Use  |  Privacy Policy  |  Cookie Policy  |  Help  |  Advertise  |  Contact Us  |  Site Map
Copyright © 2006-2023 Exotic Malaysia. All rights reserved